Innovative Ideas Grant

CKA is offering an Innovative Ideas Grant of $500 for the development and implementation of appropriate environmental, curricular or classroom projects to meet the diverse needs of young children.  Our mission is to facilitate quality education for all kindergarten children.  We aim to advance the professionalism of early childhood educators; promote an understanding of how young children learn and develop; contribute to and promote the seamless transition from preschool to kindergarten and beyond.

Proposals will be evaluated on: Title; Goals and Objectives; Description of Project/Activities; Relevant Research and Theory; Benefit to Children; Evaluation; Project Timeline; Proposed Budget; Resume/Educational Background; Two Current Professional Letters of Reference.

Grant applications are due by May 1, 2017 and will be awarded by June 30, 2017.  Grantees will be introduced at the PK1 Conference on Sunday, January 14, 2018.  Applicants should be current members in good standing of CKA.

For Innovative Ideas Grant Guidelines, click here.
For Innovative Ideas Grant Application, click here.

Judy Brown Administrator Recognition Award

The annual Judy Brown Administrator Award recognizes administrators who exemplify outstanding leadership and exemplary support of early childhood educators. Judy Brown, along with a group of dedicated educators, organized the first Bay Area Kindergarten Conference. She also served as the first President of CKA. The administrator who is nominated recognizes and encourages the professional development of early childhood teachers and supports the unique needs of their classrooms. The nominator must be a current member of CKA.  Deadline: November 1, 2017. The recipient will be given a Certificate of Recognition during CKA’s Annual Meeting at the PK1 Conference. For an application, click here.

Audrey Sanchez Teacher Enhancement Award (ASTEA)

This $500.00 award has been established to honor Audrey Sanchez’s spirit, talent, leadership and dedication to CKA and Kindergarten by recognizing individual educators for achievement and excellence in early childhood education. The nominee must believe in the philosophy of the CKA Mission Statement. Deadline: November 1, 2017. For application, click here.